What’s up with Greggo’s Game Shows?

Hello, everyone!

As you’ve probably noticed, there’s not been a terribly large amount going on online lately with me (especially where Youtube is concerned).  Tonight I’m going to talk a bit as to why that’s happened, talk about something exciting, and talk about different directions I’ll be taking going forward. All in one hopefully not too long post.

My last upload was back on July 11th, almost three months ago. For those of you who primarily see me via Youtube, I apologize for the lack of content. I really don’t have much of an excuse other than “the work involved putting up new videos was something that I didn’t do because I was doing other things instead.” Mainly working at the part-time job, being at conventions, or getting oral surgery.  With all that going on plus the need for at least a day or two a week not working on things, there just hasn’t been time for video.  Or motivation, especially recently with the Youtube strike (and also a demonetization of another video this week).

My next upload…I can’t say when. I have plenty of videos ready to edit together, but after a conversation I had with one of the masterminds behind another online interactivity hub, I’m going to start shifting focus away from Youtube.

As a result, starting with October, I’m switching my Patreon model back to “per video” as it originally was. I know some of you support me solely for my online content and don’t ever see me at conventions. This way if I go a month without uploading anything, you won’t be charged. If you still would like to help during such months, my Ko-fi link is one of many ways in which you can. I’ve messaged all of you who support me on Patreon already to let you know about the change; here I’ve explained why.

I had an hour long conversation with Bryce Papenbrook today about providing content for a new app he’s helped to launch called Unlocked. Many of you who follow me have the app and/or follow their Facebook group. Based on our conversation, I feel like that’s really where the majority of my anime game show content should go, and by the end of the year I will hopefully be able and ready to start providing content there on a much more regular basis than I have on Youtube.

Speaking of Youtube, I have not and don’t plan on abandoning it; however, the revenue I get from it is all but insignificant, and at any moment a company whose games I’m parodying could do the same thing that was done to my video last week, and that would then be the end of that channel. Therefore, around the first of next year, I will be completely demonetizing the channel (I’m waiting until I hit the next payment threshold which at the current rate of views will likely take until February).

So what’s going to happen with Youtube? It’s been suggested that I keep Unlocked content exclusive. As Unlocked focuses primarily on interactions between voice actors and other personalities and their fans, new episodes of Know Your Role will likely be moving over there.  A lot of my original games (with a theme song changed here or there) will probably have new episodes over there as well.  For Youtube, it’ll be business as usual in regards to uploading homages to current/past game shows.  In order to curb Youtube strikes, any new game show upload that is an homage of something that can currently be seen on television (including Buzzr! or GSN) will not be monetized. Those games will also be contribution-incentive only and will only be considered if certain Patreon numbers are reached.

Here is a list of games that will not be affected that would be considered for upload without incentive (and will still be monetized until the channel goes “free” next year):

All-Star Blitz
Blockbusters
Bullseye
Concentration
Definition
Hit Man
Play Your Cards Right
Scrabble
The Joker’s Wild
Three on a Match
Tic Tac Dough
Wipeout

Here is a list of games that will not be monetized and that would be considered for upload on contribution incentive:

Anime Press Your Luck
Anime Price is Right
Celebrity Family Feud
Chain Reaction
Jeopardy!
Match Game
Panel Quiz Attack 25
Password
Pointless
Pyramid
Sale of the Century
Wheel of Fortune

And finally, here’s a list of games that are being stockpiled for potential release on Unlocked:

Face Off
Farkle
Know Your Role
Strikeout

“Classic” Pokémon Game Show and Stop the Music! will no longer be uploaded due to the increased possibility of Youtube strikes.

I will also start development on “de-asseted” versions of game shows with game play similar to existing games but with none of the copyrighted material or trademarks included in the broadcast. This particular announcement is going to stick in the craw of many of you who are game show “purists;” however, should there come a time where a company decides to bring the hammer down, these “de-asseted” versions and original formats will be all I’ll be able to produce.

Thanks for reading. I will have another update for you all on October 1st in regards to how 2018 is looking (spoiler alert: not great).

And as always, thanks so much for your support.

 

Leave a Reply

